Week 47 Update!

Hello there my fellow Americans and readers around the globe haha, how’s everyone?! Comment on this post, like I actually want to know what’s up with y’all! My week flew by, but don’t I basically say that every week nowadays?! Changes are coming up this weekend so we’ll see what happens! I could get sent to another area, my comp could, we both could, or we both could stay! So many scenarios to consider, Elder Beteta and I aren’t really looking forward to it since neither of us want to leave Semarak and neither of us want a different companion. We are pretty much life time friends now and make a perfect team….well that’s our take on it at least haha. It was a sweaty week, which really could describe each week of missionary work in Guatemala but I note it here in this weeks email because not only did we WORK HARD but it was HOT, like way Hot (reminded me of my days in La Tinta). Not only was it due to the sun and humidity this time though, nope, there’s another factor… It’s the beginning of the Harvest. Everybody is harvesting their cornfields and ya know what happens right after they’ve collected all of there corn? Well they burn down the whole plot. Did I mention that we are surrounded by cornfields? The skies have been musty and full of thick smoke as a result and its baking Semarak like an oven.

Yesterday we went to church in San Francisco (it’s only a group of like 25-40 members) because as well as Semarak it is in our area and is our responsibility. The pictures of me up at the pulpit was me yesterday teaching an hour class in Q’eqchi'(that weird awesome ancient Mayan language that I can finally speak). When we visit that group we usually end up doing almost everything, I enjoy it, each time is a great learning experience. The only thing not too awesome about going to San Francisco is the 2 hour hard walk in the sun. If you looked at me at the end of that hike you would probably think I had just gone swimming with my clothes on.
Have a great week people! But before you do that, leave a comment, let’s see how many we can get on this weeks post!

Sincerely, Your Favorite Elder Ever

6 comments

  1. Laura Buckmaster · May 2, 2016

    You look just like your dad in the picture of you eating your corn. Thanks for the pics and expressing your testimony. You brighten my week.

    Like

  2. kellymjones · May 2, 2016

    I LOVE reading your e-mails! Thank you for sharing and keep up the great work!

    Like

  3. Weston Morrill · May 2, 2016

    I love seeing your comments every week. You are doing an amazing job. I can’t imagine having to learn two new languages. I appreciate your testimony and your ability to stay cheerful even under less than perfect conditions. Keep up the great work.

    Like

  4. Linda Miller · May 2, 2016

    Ditto to Laura’s comments. There have been several pictures of you that look just like your dad. I love reading your posts. They are always so inspiring and interesting. Love and prayers sent your way.

    Like

  5. Jane MORRILL · May 3, 2016

    I’m not sure you remember me, but we lived in your Ward in Newport. We sold our home and now live in Dallas, Oregon just a block away from our son, which is great. I want you to know that I have thoroughly enjoyed your letters and your pictures. (You are looking more like your dad every day!). Our son was on a mission in Guatamala in several years ago, but was in the South Mission and spent most of his time near the ocean and Guatamala City. Best Wishes, Elder and have a good week.

    Like

  6. pixleyyy · May 3, 2016

    You don’t know me, but I went to school with your parents. I’ve truly enjoyed following your adventures each week. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

