Week 11 – Best week and Baptism!

Best week in the mission so far. Such a great week! Was it still hot as blue blazes? Was I still sleeping on what feels like straight springs? Did the lights in our house go out again for another 24 hrs? Yes to all of that, but boy was it a good week to be a missionary in the Polochic!

To top off a week full of hard work and adventure we had our first baptism. My first baptism in the mission. Louis Fernando Guala Beb, after weeks of teaching him the Gospel he chose me to be the one to baptize him.

After being totally surprised and excited by this I was quick to dedicate the next hour to memorizing the Baptismal Ordinance in Q´eqchi´ so that I could do it in his language and do my best when the time came (Later that day).

When it was time for us to fill up the Baptismal font in thechurch we found that the rain storm from the night before had caused all the running water to become brown. What to do, what to do. We had no clue what we were going to do, you cant baptize in dirty water. We thought for a little bit…

The Polochic River.

We called President, asked permission, and the next thing you know we were headed to the River (which is no short walk by the way), small little possey of Mormons in tow.

Wow, what an incredible experience it was. A beautiful baptismal service and something I will never forget. I love this work. I love seeing the Holy Ghost work in these peoples lives.

I am just all the more excited now to keep working the Lord´s Vineyard, bringing in the harvest, changing lives.

IMG_0498 IMG_0497 IMG_0496

3 comments

  1. Nikki · August 31, 2015

    Hey buddy,

    It sound like you are doing the work. I am so impressed with you and your testimony. Wow! Has it grown or what. The people sound amazing. I can’t believe you are baptising. How wonderful is that.

    Like

  2. Nikki · August 31, 2015

    I love you so very much.

    Aunt Nikki

    Like

  3. JerriLynn Woolley · August 31, 2015

    What a wonderful blessing and opportunity to have your first baptism!!! So super excited for you. And what a blessing it turned out to be to get to baptize him in the river. I am sure you felt the similarity to Christ’s baptism in the river Jordan. I felt the spirit as you testified and as I looked at the beautiful pictures. Thanks so much for sharing. All our best, JerriLyn and Laren Woolley

    Like

Leave a Reply

