A Field trip & One more week at the MTC

“An interesting thing happens whenever you attempt to place your feet in Christ’s footsteps. If you really concentrate on trying to walk the way He walked loving, caring, serving and obeying each step of the way one day you’ll look up and discover that His path has lead you directly to the throne of God.”

-M. Russel Ballard Search for Happiness pg.8

The real adventure is about to begin. A week from today I will be on my way to the mission field, by some mode of sketchy transportation I’m sure. The missionary Training Center has taught me a lot, so much in fact that I’ve filled up 3 notebooks and used up the ink of 4 new pens (I’ve never had a pen die on me in my entire life!). Not only are the notebooks full but so is my head, its jammed packed. What I’ve learned about learning though is this… the more you learn doesn’t really fill up your head but rather the opposite, as you learn and apply more your mind will be expanded and strengthened, making it even easier to learn even more. I’m thankful for the MTC and the opportunities I’ve had here to learn another language, to teach with the spirit, and to step up and become a leader. Never the less I AM SO READY to get out into my mission field! I’m getting so excited to take on this work that I have been called by the Lord to do. To share my testimony of what I believe and know to be true, to share the Book of Mormon and how much it has blessed my life, and to represent Jesus Christ by sharing His gospel. I already love the people in my mission and I pray for my future investigators every day, that they can be prepared with soft hearts to let this message bring them eternal happiness.

Every two weeks is when the MTC sends off and receives missionaries. The time period between when the old ones leave and the new ones arrive is about half a day. So last week on one of these transfer days, the remaining Nortes (American missionaries) including me of course got to go on a city tour. There were about 30 of us. The best part was going to the Mercado, which is like a Huge market place with literally thousands of little stores mostly underground and all jammed packed into about a city block. Everything is up for bargain. They’ve got avocados larger than some cantaloupes, meat hanging on hooks ready to be bought, and fruits of so much variety that most were a mystery to me. To end the field trip we stopped at Wendy’s and let me tell you, this place was NICE!, I could not believe it was a Wendy’s for a solid 10 minutes. The food was way higher quality than in America and it only cost me 89 Quetzales. I’ve got more to say but I’m short on time. I’ll share again as soon as I can.

Thanks for all the Love and support!

Elder McEntee

2 comments

  1. JerriLynn Woolley · July 14, 2015

    Wow, so exciting to hear the wonderful reports of your mission and to know that the Lord has prepared you to go out and teach. So super excited for the things you are learning and how strong the spirit is with you. Go forth and serve. The market place sounded interesting as well. Yea!!! So happy for you and your family.

    Like

  2. Liz Forsloff · July 14, 2015

    So proud of you! You’ve grown into such a wonderful young man. This mission & the growth you will experience will be immeasurable in your life & the lives of many others. Ours prayers are with you. Go forth!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

