Farewell

Hello everyone! I’m starting a blog as I am about to embark on the greatest adventure of my life and I’d like to share it with as many people as I can! For those that know me, you know I would be one of the last people on this planet to start a blog but… it would be incredibly selfish of me not to share a few my future experiences as I am about to lose myself in the service of God. If this blog does nothing except prove to you that I’m crazy then so be it, but I know what I’m about to do is the right thing and the hope is that I can soften a few of your hearts and maybe help strengthen a few of your testimonies while I am away.

In a few days I will be catching a Red Eye flight down to Guatemala City as a Missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of  Latter Day Saints (Mormon Church). There I will enter the MTC (Missionary Training Center) for a period of about 6 weeks. I will be assigned a missionary companion who probably doesn’t know English and I will start to learn how and what to teach the people of Guatemala. Not only that but I will be fully immersed in the Spanish language and will be studying it like crazy! I can barely speak ENGLISH everyone, HOW am I gonna pull this off!? Jajaja (at least I can express my laughter on a keyboard in spanish sooooo BOOM, how hard can this be pffff I got this) well its simple really, all there is to it is like I said, STUDY like crazy, but more important than that is FAITH in the Lord that He is there to help me, and I can only imagine how many times I will be on my knees PRAYING for that help. Following my time in the MTC I will head out into the the Cobán Mission Field and serve for the next two years with all of my heart, might, mind, and strength.

For those of you that do not understand, or question why anyone would make such a sacrifice, then hopefully these following words can enlighten you just a little bit or at least let you in on why I myself have chosen to serve a Mission:

“As we lose ourselves in  the service of others we discover our own lives and our own happiness” -Dieter F Uchtdorf

This is the reason I have chosen to serve a mission. Missions are always a sacrifice. It’s not easy to leave behind those I love, or school, or my intense love of sports and certain hobbies, or to save up the money to pay for it. But it’s so worth it. The gospel has blessed me more than words can express. I see the difference it has made in my life and I want others to have that too. I see their potential to become members of this church and experience the same joy I experience daily.

I know that the same gospel that Christ taught while He was on the earth has been restored again in its fullness. These divinely restored truths are what make our church different than any other on the earth. These truths are contained in the Book of Mormon. The Book of Mormon has the answers to deep questions of the soul and all problems we may have in life. I know it truly is the word of God in addition to the Bible. I know that keeping the commandments brings peace and happiness that is true and lasting. It’s better than any temporary pleasure that may come from sin. I know that Christ has atoned for the sins of all mankind because He loves us so much. Whenever we mess up, we can turn to Him and repent. Whenever we go through anything hard, we can turn to Him and receive comfort from somebody who knows exactly what we are feeling. The Gospel is simple. Anyone can know the truth of these things if they ask God with a sincere desire to receive an answer.

I’d like to challenge all of you to not just take my word for it. Find out that the gospel is true for yourself. If you don’t have a testimony, do what you need to to get one. If you already have one, guard it and nourish it. I promise that as you do these things, you will realize how precious your testimony is. You will be able to receive the strength, guidance, and comfort you need throughout life and you will be able to find purpose and lasting happiness. I love this Gospel so much. I’m grateful for the opportunity to share my testimony with you and soon with the people of Guatemala on my mission. I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

I will do my best to update this blog over the years and I am hopeful that many of you will share in this adventure with me by checking in every little bit or so. Thanks for your time, interest, and support.

Love, Elder Carter McEntee

Leave a Reply

